3 Books Your IDEA Scholar Will Love This Holiday Break



IDEA Rio Grande Valley and IDEA Austin will be closed for the holiday break from December 21 through January 7, and IDEA San Antonio will be closed from December 22 through January 7.  During this time, we recommend fixing up some hot chocolate, snuggling under some covers, and reading with your child.  When your child finishes a book, remind him or her to test on it online via the Accelerated Reader software!  Afterward, throw in some fun math games online too!

That’s right, IDEA’s Accelerated Reader & iLearning Hotspot software will be available during the break.  The math and reading fun never ends for your child!  You can access online information and login credentials here.    

In the spirit of reading and the holidays, here are three of our favorite books sure to captivate your child over Winter Break.  Check them out at your local library, or see if they’re available at your child’s campus AR zone.   

book-spacer.png#asset:11658

Lower Academy (Grades K-2)

Snowmen at Night

By Caralyn Buehner

With snowflakes gently falling outside (even in the Rio Grande Valley!), this book is the perfect read for your young, budding scholar.  Snowmen At Night reveals the wonderful wintertime secret—when we are sleeping, the snowmen wake up and have incredible adventures.

snowmen.jpg#asset:12295

Upper Academy (Grades 3-5)

Star Wars Jedi Academy Series

By Jeffrey Brown

Has your child caught the Star Wars fever yet?  If so, make sure they check out this fun series.  Young Jedi battle foes, bond together, and learn important lessons in a galaxy far far away.

jedis.jpg#asset:12296

Middle School (Grade 6-8)

The Thief Lord

By Cornelia Funke

This enchanting throwback is a must-read for fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson.  Pick up this page-turner for your child and he or she will be magically transported to Venice, Italy in the early twentieth century, and meet a pair of orphans who encounter the mysterious “Thief Lord” in the wondrous city of canals.

thief-lord.jpg#asset:12297



Recent Posts

Great IDEA: Recipes for a Happy and Healthy 4th of July

December 20

The 4th of July is upon us and for many, celebrating our nation’s independence means food, family, and fun. From delicious family recipes to evening fireworks displays, what’s not to love? As a recent National Healthy Schools Award winner, and part of IDE...